Monday, February 22, 2016

The Big Chop part 1

A big big big reason I had a yearning to blog was because of my hair. Yup my hair. So lets get right into it. 

So I wasn't sure exactly how to get to what I want to say BUT I sort of have in the past so I am going to quote one of my older blogs (I edited my own past writing jejeje):

My hair is what some consider NOT to be "Good Hair". We can leave that to discussion on what exactly Good Hair is and who came up with the term and yada yada yada.
As a child I had lots of unruly hair. It was hard to tame. 
Really my "pajon" was or is a big, WILD,THICK,CURLY hair. If you don't have that type of hair, managing it might be difficult. If you don't have the patience to deal with a spoil brat this is a form of punishment from God to you called as a daughter with no good hair. My mother like many other little Dominican girls took me to a salon and relaxed it. I can't even remember the first time I was relaxed but I know I liked how it looked! 
The way it works is you relax your hair and you have that good ol bone straight hair like a China (chee-na). For a long long long time I would go every 6 months and get my hair relaxed with every 2 weeks going to get it blown out. This was normal to me to the point I thought everyone got relaxers. I didn't understand the harsh chemicals I was putting on my head. All I knew was pain is beauty and relaxing is what they meant by that statement. 
Fast forward to NOW. I know now or at least I can agree that there is no such thing as "good hair" Straight doesn't make it good and curly doesn't make it bad. 

Pats self on back - I did a great job with that introduction back than on hair and how it worked in my culture. To make a LONG LONG  story short. I wrote that post because at that time I went "natural" as in I stopped relaxing my hair PERIOD. Like no I thought that was it. I thought that if I stopped relaxing my hair. I could wear my hair curly while still killing my curls with all the heating stuff I did to it. My mother was so proud too she would say oh look how good your hair looks "straight and natural". I'd be so happy like yes look at my straight natural hair.

Over time I realized that natural meant natural as in what God gave you! You know the natural when you don't do nothing to it and let it just do its own thing. Over time everyone and there mother was natural and it all looked very different on each individual to claim this thing called "natural". Overtime I noticed how my "natural curly hair" didn't look so good. In fact it looked horrible if you really sat there and compared it to its potential of what it really can be.

I noticed how much time, money and energy I spent in going to a salon for it to be straight. Or how much I worried how my straight hair would be on day 2 after going to the salon. How I couldn't quite wet it and have a beautiful curly fro to go out and how it was a MUST for me to get it done to look decent. It was getting to the point of exhaustion. If I wanted to go out - I had to wake up early on one of my only 2 days off from work. I'd have to spend $35.00 to get it done. I'd have to find a sitter. I'd have to drive to the salon or ask my husband to take me/get me. Like getting my hair done was becoming a J.O.B and one that I had to pay  money for. I couldn't just wear my hair "natural" because the truth is all the years of non stop heat, chemicals KILLED any curl pattern I had. So natural was not real at least to me it wasn't and getting it straight was a JOB that I did not want.

So I took the easiest and best approach to it I chopped it all. I called my best friend and we went to a barber and I told him to cut off all and any damage hair and I was prepared to go bald if needed. I told no one. It was a simple thing to me. I wanted natural curly hair. I have to start at 1 to get there. I can always straighten it and know what my results will be if I wanted to go back. It was that simple or so I thought.

For now I'll leave it at this. I'll go into the Pandora box that chopping my hair opened in the next post.

Here is a little flipgram with a look at my hair:
*Please note I was not able to put it into order and I literally just went into my phone and grab different pics old and new of my hair!


Later Alligator
XoXo
Melissa

No comments:

Post a Comment